Jul 19, 2024  
2023 - 2024 Catalog 
2023 - 2024 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Medical Assistant - Medical Coding Specialist Level 1 Certificate

Faculty Advisors: Dr. Tawny Irvin-Morrison (tnix@ntcc.edu) • 903-434-8289; April Brannon (abrannon@ntcc.edu) • 903-434-8131; Karen Pitts (kpitts@ntcc.edu) • 903-434-8363

Students should consult a faculty advisor or an academic advisor early in their program of study.

The Medical Coding Specialist Level 1 Certificate program is designed to prepare competent coding specialists to be responsible for correctly coding healthcare claims in order to obtain reimbursement from insurance companies and government healthcare programs, such as Medicare. Medical coding specialists work in hospitals, clinics and physicians’ offices and utilize specialized medical classification software to assign procedure and diagnosis codes for insurance billing. Coders also review claims data to ensure that assigned codes meet required legal and insurance rules and that required signatures and authorizations are in place prior to submission. Qualified medical coders can earn the Certified Coding Associate (CCA), Certified Coding Specialist (CCS), or the Certified Coding Specialist Physician Based (CCS-P) credential through the American Health Information Management Association (AHiMA). These credentials are the only coding credential, world-wide, currently accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA). http://www.ahima.org/

The Medical Coding Specialist program is three semesters, beginning each Fall in a 100% online delivery format. There is no formal application process for the program at this time, however, application to Northeast and placement testing via TSI is required before students may register for program classes.

CIP: 51.0713


Minimum Required - 36 Credit Hours


♦ Designates a prerequisite course that must be taken prior to application.